ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 26 May 1955
Back Next Belfast West
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 78,559 3 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Jack Beattie  Irish Labour Lozenge   16,050   27.35%   Elected   
Eamonn Boyce  Sinn Féin Lozenge   8,447   14.39%   Not Elected   
Florence McLaughlin  Unionist Lozenge   34,191   58.26%   Not Elected    1

Total poll 58,688 74.71%

Majority  Irish Labour 7,603 12.95%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 25-Jun-17 01:18 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East