ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 3 May 1979
Back Next Antrim North
County Constituency Co Antrim Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 102,202 5 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Rev Ian Paisley Snr  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   33,941   51.67%   Elected    1

David Burchill  Official Unionist Lozenge   15,398   23.44%   Not Elected   
Hugh Wilson  Alliance Lozenge   7,797   11.87%   Lost deposit   
Se├ín Farren  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   4,867   7.41%   Lost deposit   
John Turnly  Irish Independence Lozenge   3,689   5.62%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 65,692 64.28%

Majority  Democratic Unionist 18,543 28.23%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 23-Apr-17 11:06 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East