ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 34: 13 August 1936
Back Next Galway
Galway Area (Connaught)

1 Seat 3 Candidates 1 Count
Electorate: 97,736 Quota: 32,972
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Martin Neilan  Fianna Fail Lozenge   39,982   60.63%   1.21   1      Made Quota     1

James Hogan1  Fine Gael Lozenge   23,264   35.28%   0.71   (1)      Not Elected    
Count George Plunkett  National Centre Party Lozenge   2,696   4.09%   0.08   (1)      Lost Deposit    

Total poll 65,942 67.47%

By election caused by death on 24 January 1969 of Patrick Hogan.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-May-19 03:31 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East