ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 15 October 1964
Back Next Down South
County Constituency Co Down Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 77,391 4 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Captain Lawrence Orr  Unionist Lozenge   32,922   58.98%   Elected    1
George Mussen  Republican Lozenge   11,031   19.76%   Not Elected   
Samuel Thompson  Northern Ireland Labour Lozenge   6,260   11.21%   Lost deposit   
Hamilton Simmonds Gooding  Liberal Lozenge   5,610   10.05%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 55,823 72.13%

Majority  Unionist 21,891 39.22%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 19-Sep-17 02:41 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East