ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 108: 14 June 1984
Laois Uibh Fhaili
Back Next Laoighis Offaly
Laoighis Offaly Area (Leinster)

1 Seat 6 Candidates 1 Count
Electorate: 74,087 Quota: 23,791
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Brian Cowen  Fianna Fail Lozenge   26,022   54.69%   1.09   1      Made Quota     1

Padraig Horan  Fine Gael Lozenge   18,173   38.19%   0.76   (1)      Not Elected    
Se├ín O'Brien2  Labour Lozenge   1,737   3.65%   0.07   (1)      Lost Deposit    
Joe McCormack  Non party/Independent Lozenge   1,471   3.09%   0.06   (1)      Lost Deposit    
Eoin O Murchu  Communist Party of Ireland Lozenge   120   0.25%   0.01   (1)      Lost Deposit    
Jim Tallon  Non party/Independent Lozenge   58   0.12%   0.00   (1)      Lost Deposit    

Total poll 47,581 64.22%

By election caused by death on 24 January 1984 of Bernard F Cowen.
The Writ for the By Election was moved on 17 May 1984.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 23-May-19 12:06 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East