ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 9 June 1983
Back Next Belfast East
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 55,581 8 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

Herbert Boyd  Non party/Independent Lozenge   59   0.15%   Elected   
David Burchill  Official Unionist Lozenge   9,642   24.78%   Not Elected   
Francis Cullen  Workers' Lozenge   421   1.08%   Lost deposit   
Denis Donaldson  Sinn Féin Lozenge   682   1.75%   Lost deposit   
Oliver Napier  Alliance Lozenge   9,373   24.09%   Not Elected   
Peter Prendiville  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   519   1.33%   Lost deposit   
Peter Robinson  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   17,631   45.31%   Not Elected    1
Muriel Tang  Independent Labour Lozenge   584   1.50%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 38,911 70.01%

Majority  Non party/Independent -9,583 - 24.63%

The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
By Elections:
23 January 1986  caused by unknown reason for departure of Peter Robinson
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 19-Oct-17 09:57 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Ulster Mid Upper Bann