ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 9 June 1983
Back Next Belfast North
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 61,128 7 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

Paul Maguire  Alliance Lozenge   3,879   9.14%   Elected   
George Seawright  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   8,260   19.47%   Not Elected   
William Gault  Independent DUP Lozenge   1,134   2.67%   Lost deposit   
Cecil Walker  Official Unionist Lozenge   15,339   36.16%   Not Elected    1
Brian Feeney  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   5,944   14.01%   Not Elected   
Joseph Austin  Sinn Féin Lozenge   5,451   12.85%   Not Elected   
Seamus Lynch1  Workers' Lozenge   2,412   5.69%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 42,419 69.39%

Majority  Alliance -4,381 - 10.33%

The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
By Elections:
23 January 1986  caused by resignation of Cecil Walker
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 19-Oct-17 10:02 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Ulster Mid Upper Bann