ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 9 June 1983
Back Next Belfast South
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 53,694 6 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

Gerard Carr  Workers' Lozenge   856   2.29%   Elected   
David Cook  Alliance Lozenge   8,945   23.94%   Not Elected   
Raymond McCrea  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   4,565   12.22%   Lost deposit   
Alasdair McDonnell  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   3,216   8.61%   Lost deposit   
Seán McKnight  Sinn Féin Lozenge   1,107   2.96%   Lost deposit   
Rev Martin Smyth1  Official Unionist Lozenge   18,669   49.97%   Not Elected    1

Total poll 37,358 69.58%

Majority  Workers' -8,089 - 21.65%

The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
By Elections:
23 January 1986  caused by resignation of Rev Martin Smyth
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 18-Oct-17 01:18 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Ulster Mid Upper Bann