ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 9 June 1983
Back Next Upper Bann
County Constituency Ulster Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 60,795 5 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

James Wells2  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   4,547   10.39%   Elected   
* Harold McCusker  Official Unionist Lozenge   24,888   56.89%   Not Elected    1
James McDonald  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   7,807   17.85%   Not Elected   
Brendan Curran  Sinn Féin Lozenge   4,110   9.40%   Lost deposit   
Thomas French  Workers' Lozenge   2,392   5.47%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 43,744 71.95%

Majority  Democratic Unionist -20,341 - 46.50%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
By Elections:
23 January 1986  caused by resignation of Harold McCusker
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 18-Oct-17 09:18 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Ulster Mid Upper Bann