ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 11 June 1987
Back Next Newry and Armagh
County Constituency Ulster Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 66,151 5 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Seamus Mallon  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   25,137   48.09%   Elected    1

Jim Nicholson  Official Unionist Lozenge   19,812   37.90%   Not Elected   
James McAllister  Sinn Féin Lozenge   6,173   11.81%   Not Elected   
William Jeffry  Alliance Lozenge   664   1.27%   Lost deposit   
Gerald O'Hanlon  Workers' Lozenge   482   0.92%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 52,268 79.01%

Majority  Social Democrat and Labour 5,325 10.19%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 18-Oct-17 07:39 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Ulster Mid Upper Bann