ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 1 May 1997
Back Next Antrim East
County Constituency Co Antrim Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 58,963 9 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Roy Beggs  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   13,318   38.77%   Elected    1

Seán Neeson  Alliance Lozenge   6,929   20.17%   Not Elected   
Jack McKee  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   6,682   19.45%   Not Elected   
Terence Dick  Conservative Lozenge   2,334   6.79%   Not Elected   
Billy Donaldson  Progressive Unionist Lozenge   1,757   5.11%   Not Elected   
Danny O'Connor  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   1,576   4.59%   Lost deposit   
Robert Mason  Non party/Independent Lozenge   1,145   3.33%   Lost deposit   
Chrissie McAuley  Sinn Féin Lozenge   543   1.58%   Lost deposit   
Maura McCann  Natural Law Lozenge   69   0.20%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 34,353 58.26%

Majority  Ulster Unionist 6,389 18.60%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 17-Oct-17 07:12 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann