ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 1 May 1997
Back Next Belfast East
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 61,744 9 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Peter Robinson  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   16,640   42.63%   Elected    1
Reg Empey  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   9,886   25.33%   Not Elected   
Jim Hendron  Alliance Lozenge   9,288   23.80%   Not Elected   
Sarah Dines  Conservative Lozenge   928   2.38%   Lost deposit   
Dominic Corr  Sinn Féin Lozenge   810   2.08%   Lost deposit   
Patricia Lewsley  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   629   1.61%   Lost deposit   
Derek Dougan  Former Captain NI Football Team Lozenge   541   1.39%   Lost deposit   
Joseph Bell  Workers' Lozenge   237   0.61%   Lost deposit   
David Collins2  Natural Law Lozenge   70   0.18%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 39,029 63.21%

Majority  Democratic Unionist 6,754 17.31%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 19-Oct-17 03:33 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann