ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election: 27 March 2013
An Mhi Thoir
Back Next Meath East


Meath Area (Leinster)

1 Seat 11 Candidates 3 Counts
Electorate: 64,164 Quota: 12,155
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Helen McEntee  Fine Gael Lozenge   9,356   38.49%   0.77   3      Elected     1

Thomas Byrne4  Fianna Fail Lozenge   8,002   32.92%   0.66   (3)      Not Elected    
Darren O'Rourke  Sinn Féin Lozenge   3,165   13.02%   0.26   (2)      Eliminated    
Ben Gilroy  Direct Democracy Ireland Lozenge   1,568   6.45%   0.13   (2)      Eliminated    
Eoin Holmes  Labour Lozenge   1,112   4.57%   0.09   (2)      No expenses*    
Seán O Buachalla  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   423   1.74%   0.03   (1)      No expenses*    
Seamus McDonagh  Workers' Lozenge   263   1.08%   0.02   (1)      No expenses*    
Mick Martin  Non party/Independent Lozenge   190   0.78%   0.02   (1)      No expenses*    
Charlie Keddy  Non party/Independent Lozenge   110   0.45%   0.01   (1)      No expenses*    
Gerard O'Brien  Non party/Independent Lozenge   73   0.30%   0.01   (1)      No expenses*    
Jim Tallon  Non party/Independent Lozenge   47   0.19%   0.00   (1)      No expenses*    

Total valid 24,309 37.89%

Spoilt votes 259 1.05%

Total poll 24,568 38.29%

By election caused by death on 21 December 2012 of Shane McEntee.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

*Under the Electoral (Amendment) Act 2007 §48(1)(e)(ii), a qualified candidate is entitled to apply for a reimbursement of election expenses. In order to qualify for a reimbursement, a candidate must either be elected or, if not elected, have exceeded one quarter of what would have been the quota in that constituency were the full number of members of the Dáil for the constituency to be elected.
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 25-May-19 11:55 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East