ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Local Elections: 27 June 1991
Back Next Ennistimon
Clare County Council (Clare)

5 Seats 7 Candidates 2 Counts
Electorate: 9,891 Quota: 1,073
highlighted commentary button boundary button population button members button highlighted candidates button


This was one of the few areas in the country that returned the same members as 1985. It was also the only area in the country that produced a final result after just one count as four of the candidates were over the quota and the fifth was close to it and well ahead of the two other candidates. However, the Returning Officier decided to proceed with another count, presumably to ensure the last candidate got enough votes to save his deposit and to bring the fifth candidate over the quota.

The Fianna Fail vote was down -5.4%, but with 3.2 quotas they comfortably retained their three seats. Tony Killeen increased his vote by 71 to top the poll once again and he took the first seat. Enda Mulkere increased his vote by 99 and he was also elected on the first count compared with the seventh count in 1985. Jimmy Nagle's vote was up by 53 and he was within 88 votes of the quota but he was 678 votes ahead of his nearest rival and so he was also elected on the first count.

The Fine Gael vote was down -1.7% but Frank Henchy increased his first preferences by 138 to 1,258 and he took the second seat to become Fine Gael's leading vote getter in Clare.

The Labour vote was up +3% and Martin Lafferty upped his first preferences by 115 to take the third seat.

The Progressive Democrats Noel Moran took 4.8% of the vote.

This was one of the least competitive areas in the country with only seven candidates contesting the five seats and it was all over after the first count. The valid poll of 65.1% was down -6.4% on 1985.

Click to see First Preference Votes Click for Count Details Click for Transfer Analysis Click for Party Details Click for biograhical details of candidates
   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 16-Apr-24 04:43 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address: