Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster
 ElectionsIreland.org > Boundaries

Electoral Boundaries

Constituency Commission Reports

General Election Boundaries

Local Election Boundaries

The Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee Report was published on 30 May 2013. A copy of the report can be downloaded by clicking here (PDF 16MB) or from the Boundary Committee website.

The coverage of local election boundary changes is currently limited. See the 'Other information' tab on the result page for each Local Electoral Area for some additional information.

The Local Government Act 2001, which came into effect in January 2002, provides for a 'County Borough' to be referred to as a 'City', and for a 'County Borough Corporation' to be referred to as a 'City Council'. At the same time, all Town Commissions and Urban District Councils became known as Town Councils. There were no changes in administrative structure or function as a result of these name changes.

  • A proposal has been submitted (30 January 2008) to the Minister for the extension of the Limerick City boundary northwards, to include part of Limerick County up to the County Clare border: "In the interests of convenient and effective local government, in order to address the geographical divorcement of the area concerned from Limerick County Council, and to assist the implementation of the Fitzgerald report, the Boundary Committee recommends that the Minister proceeds with a boundary alteration, to include the townlands of Ballygrennan, Caherdavin, Clonconane, Clondrinagh, Clonmacken, Coonagh East, Coonagh West, Knock and Shannabooly within Limerick City Council's boundary." The full report is available here (PDF)

  • Waterford City Council are currently petitioning for an extension of Waterford City boundaries into areas which are in County Kilkenny. More information about this can be found on the Waterford City Council website.

©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 24-Jun-24 08:21 PM Twitter button logo IP Address: