ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 35: 17 August 1936
Loch Garman
Back Next Wexford


Wexford Area (Leinster)

1 Seat 4 Candidates 1 Count
Electorate: 57,688 Quota: 22,788
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Denis Allen  Fianna Fail Lozenge   23,263   51.04%   1.02   1      Made Quota     1

Sir John Esmonde1  Fine Gael Lozenge   16,734   36.72%   0.73   (1)      Not Elected    
Michael Murphy1  Labour Lozenge   4,276   9.38%   0.19   (1)      Lost Deposit    
Stephen Hayes  Non party/Independent Lozenge   1,301   2.85%   0.06   (1)      Lost Deposit    

Total poll 45,574 79.00%

By election caused by death on 22 July 1936 of Sir Osmond Esmonde.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 23-May-19 12:32 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East