ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election: 30 May 1940
Back Next Galway West

X (Twitter):

Gaillimh Thiar
Galway Area (Connaught)

1 Seat 2 Candidates 1 Count
Electorate: 43,091 Quota: 10,286
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

John J Keane  Fianna Fail Lozenge   14,836   72.12%   1.44   1      Made Quota     1   ♂

Michael Donnellan  Clann na Talmhan Lozenge   5,735   27.88%   0.56   (1)      Not Elected       ♂

Total poll 20,571 47.74%

Final votes required for expenses: 2,572
Candidates: 0 female (♀), 2 male (♂)
By election caused by death on 15 July 1939 of Sean Tubridy.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 12-Jun-24 04:30 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East