ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 39: 4 December 1945
Back Next Clare


An Clar
Clare Area (Munster)

1 Seat 2 Candidates 1 Count
Electorate: 60,993 Quota: 14,913
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Patrick Shanahan  Fianna Fail Lozenge   21,526   72.17%   1.44   1      Made Quota     1   ♂

Edward Monahan  Fine Gael Lozenge   8,299   27.83%   0.56   (1)      Not Elected       ♂

Total poll 29,825 48.90%

Final votes required for expenses: 3,729
Candidates: 0 female (♀), 2 male (♂)
By election caused by death on 7 February 1945 of Patrick Burke.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2023 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 07-Dec-23 01:10 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East