ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 59: 3 March 1954
Back Next Louth


Louth Area (Leinster)

1 Seat 4 Candidates 3 Counts
Electorate: 41,975 Quota: 15,395
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

George Coburn  Fine Gael Lozenge   13,360   43.39%   0.87   3      Elected (awaiting update)     1

Padraig Faulkner  Fianna Fail Lozenge   12,531   40.70%   0.81   (3)      awaiting update    
Roderick Connolly  Labour Lozenge   3,452   11.21%   0.22   (2)      awaiting update    
Joseph Campbell  Sinn Féin Lozenge   1,446   4.70%   0.09   (1)      Lost Deposit    

Total poll 30,789 73.35%

By election caused by death on 5 December 1953 of James Coburn.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 23-May-19 12:14 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East