ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 58: 3 March 1954
Back Next Cork Borough
Cork Area (Munster)

1 Seat 3 Candidates 2 Counts
Electorate: 63,332 Quota: 19,557
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Stephen Barrett  Fine Gael Lozenge   17,332   44.31%   0.89   2      Elected (awaiting update)     1

Seamus Fitzgerald2  Fianna Fail Lozenge   15,379   39.32%   0.79   (2)      awaiting update    
Se├ín Casey  Labour Lozenge   6,402   16.37%   0.33   (1)      Eliminated    

Total poll 39,113 61.76%

By election caused by death on 1 November 1953 of Dr Tom O'Higgins.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 23-May-19 11:46 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East