ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 72: 22 July 1959
An Mhi
Back Next Meath
Meath Area (Leinster)

1 Seat 4 Candidates
Electorate: 37,686 Quota: 12,811
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Henry Johnston  Fianna Fail Lozenge   11,063   43.18%   0.86   0          1

James Tully2  Labour Lozenge   6,918   27.00%   0.54   0         
Denis Farrelly  Fine Gael Lozenge   5,751   22.45%   0.45   0         
Leo Collins  Sinn Féin Lozenge   1,889   7.37%   0.15   0         

Total poll 25,621 67.99%

By election caused by death on 22 March 1959 of James Griffin.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 26-May-19 12:40 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East