ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election: 22 July 1959
Back Next Clare


An Clar
Clare Area (Munster)

1 Seat 3 Candidates 1 Count
Electorate: 47,227 Quota: 16,195
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Seán O Ceallaigh  Fianna Fail Lozenge   18,154   56.05%   1.12   1      Made Quota     1   ♂

Francis Gordon  Fine Gael Lozenge   8,770   27.08%   0.54   (1)      Not Elected       ♂
Seamus Sabhat  Sinn Féin Lozenge   5,464   16.87%   0.34   (1)      Not Elected       ♂

Total poll 32,388 68.58%

Final votes required for expenses: 4,049
Candidates: 0 female (♀), 3 male (♂)
By election caused by election as President of Eamon de Valera.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 25-Apr-24 06:15 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East