ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 7 April 1965
An Clar
Back Next Clare


Clare Area (Munster)

4 Seats 6 Candidates
Electorate: not available Quota: 8,600
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Patrick Hogan1  Ceann Comhairle (Speaker) Lozenge   Returned automatically   0          1
Dr Paddy Hillery  Fianna Fail Lozenge   14,372   41.78%   1.67   0          2
William Murphy1  Fine Gael Lozenge   8,715   25.34%   1.01   0          3
Se├ín O Ceallaigh  Fianna Fail Lozenge   5,819   16.92%   0.68   0          4

Francis Gordon  Fine Gael Lozenge   3,131   9.10%   0.36   0         
Padraig O Siochain  Labour Lozenge   2,362   6.87%   0.27   0         

Total poll 34,399

The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
By Elections:
14 March 1968  caused by death of William Murphy
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-Apr-19 08:13 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East