ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 85: 14 March 1968
An Clar
Back Next Clare


Clare Area (Munster)

1 Seat 4 Candidates
Electorate: 48,182 Quota: 16,236
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Sylvester Barrett  Fianna Fail Lozenge   19,066   58.72%   1.17   0          1

Patrick Bugler  Fine Gael Lozenge   9,313   28.68%   0.57   0         
Flan Honan  Labour Lozenge   3,799   11.70%   0.23   0         
Jean Grace  Non party/Independent Lozenge   293   0.90%   0.02   0         

Total poll 32,471 67.39%

By election caused by death on 16 November 1967 of William Murphy.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-May-19 03:30 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East