ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 89: 14 April 1970
Cill Dara
Back Next Kildare
Kildare Area (Leinster)

1 Seat 3 Candidates 2 Counts
Electorate: 36,284 Quota: 13,007
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Patrick Malone1  Fine Gael Lozenge   9,335   35.89%   0.72   2      Elected (awaiting update)     1

Eamon Kane  Fianna Fail Lozenge   10,754   41.34%   0.83   (2)      awaiting update    
Joe Bermingham  Labour Lozenge   5,923   22.77%   0.46   (1)      Eliminated    

Total poll 26,012 71.69%

By election caused by death on 28 January 1970 of Gerard Sweetman.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 20-May-19 09:25 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East