ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 93: 2 August 1972
Back Next Cork Mid
Cork Area (Munster)

1 Seat 4 Candidates 1 Count
Electorate: 49,402 Quota: 19,800
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Gene Fitzgerald  Fianna Fail Lozenge   19,595   49.48%   0.99   0          1

Denis O'Sullivan2  Fine Gael Lozenge   12,530   31.64%   0.63   0         
Eileen Desmond  Labour Lozenge   6,301   15.91%   0.32   0         
Patrick O'Callaghan1  Aontacht Eireann (Irish Unity) Lozenge   1,172   2.96%   0.06   (1)      Lost Deposit    

Total poll 39,598 80.15%

By election caused by death on 13 May 1972 of Paddy Forde.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-May-19 03:48 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East