ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 18 June 1970
Back Next Belfast North
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 75,740 4 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Stratton Mills  Unionist Lozenge   28,668   48.45%   Elected    1

John Sharkey  Northern Ireland Labour Lozenge   18,894   31.93%   Not Elected   
William Beattie  Protestant Unionist Lozenge   11,173   18.88%   Not Elected   
John McKeague  Independent Unionist Lozenge   441   0.75%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 59,176 78.13%

Majority  Unionist 9,774 16.52%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 24-May-19 06:31 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East