ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 97: 4 March 1975
Gaillimh Thiar
Back Next Galway West


Galway Area (Connaught)

1 Seat 5 Candidates
Electorate: 44,350 Quota: 13,942
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Maire Geoghegan Quinn  Fianna Fail Lozenge   12,627   45.29%   0.91   0          1

John Mannion2 Jnr  Fine Gael Lozenge   7,234   25.95%   0.52   0         
Michael D Higgins  Labour Lozenge   5,269   18.90%   0.38   0         
Pol O Foighil  Non party/Independent Lozenge   2,096   7.52%   0.15   0         
Renee Prendergast  Sinn Féin Lozenge   656   2.35%   0.05   0         

Total poll 27,882 62.87%

By election caused by death on 5 January 1975 of John Geoghegan.
The Writ for the By Election was moved on 11 February 1975.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 20-May-19 10:31 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East