ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election: 12 November 1975
Back Next Mayo West
Mayo Area (Connaught)

1 Seat 3 Candidates 1 Count
Electorate: 38,249 Quota: 14,757
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Enda Kenny  Fine Gael Lozenge   15,584   52.80%   1.06   1      Made Quota     1   ♂

Michael McGreal1  Fianna Fail Lozenge   12,448   42.18%   0.84   (1)      Not Elected       ♂
Basil A Morahan  Non party/Independent Lozenge   1,481   5.02%   0.10   (1)      Lost Deposit       ♂

Total poll 29,513 77.16%

Final votes required for expenses: 3,690
Candidates: 0 female (♀), 3 male (♂)
By election caused by death on 25 September 1975 of Henry Kenny.
The Writ for the By Election was moved on 23 October 1975.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2023 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 02-Oct-23 10:20 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East