ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 10 October 1974
Back Next Belfast South
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 75,147 5 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Rev Robert Bradford  Vanguard Progressive Unionist Lozenge   30,116   59.23%   Elected    1

John Glass  Alliance Lozenge   11,715   23.04%   Not Elected   
Stanley McMaster  Independent Unionist Lozenge   4,982   9.80%   Lost deposit   
John Caraher  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   2,390   4.70%   Lost deposit   
Joseph Homes  Northern Ireland Labour Lozenge   1,643   3.23%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 50,846 67.66%

Majority  Vanguard Progressive Unionist 18,401 36.19%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 22-Sep-17 04:33 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East