ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 10 October 1974
Back Next Belfast West
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 66,278 5 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Gerry Fitt  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   21,821   49.01%   Elected    1
John McQuade  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   16,265   36.53%   Not Elected   
Kathleen O'Kane  Republican Clubs Lozenge   3,547   7.97%   Lost deposit   
McKee Gibson  Non party/Independent Lozenge   2,690   6.04%   Lost deposit   
Peter Kerins  Communist (Marxist-Leninist) Lozenge   203   0.46%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 44,526 67.18%

Majority  Social Democrat and Labour 5,556 12.48%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 19-Oct-17 06:34 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East