ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 101: 7 November 1979
Back Next Cork City
Cork Area (Munster)

1 Seat 4 Candidates
Electorate: 70,164 Quota: 19,329
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Liam Burke1  Fine Gael Lozenge   12,832   33.19%   0.66   0          1

John Dennehy  Fianna Fail Lozenge   13,890   35.93%   0.72   0         
Toddy O'Sullivan  Labour Lozenge   8,742   22.61%   0.45   0         
Ted Tynan  Sinn Féin Workers' Lozenge   3,193   8.26%   0.17   0         

Total poll 38,657 55.10%

By election caused by death on 4 July 1979 of Patrick Kerrigan.
The Writ for the By Election was moved on 17 October 1979.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 23-May-19 11:42 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East