ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 102: 7 November 1979
Back Next Cork North East
Cork Area (Munster)

1 Seat 4 Candidates
Electorate: 60,075 Quota: 20,604
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Myra Barry  Fine Gael Lozenge   15,939   38.68%   0.77   0          1

John Brosnan  Fianna Fail Lozenge   14,961   36.31%   0.73   0         
Joe Sherlock  Sinn Féin Workers' Lozenge   9,395   22.80%   0.46   0         
Mary Duggan  Non party/Independent Lozenge   911   2.21%   0.04   0         

Total poll 41,206 68.59%

By election caused by death on 18 April 1979 of Seán Brosnan.
The Writ for the By Election was moved on 17 October 1979.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 26-May-19 12:03 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East