ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 3 May 1979
Back Next Londonderry
Borough Constituency Co Londonderry Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 94,770 6 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* William Ross  Official Unionist Lozenge   31,592   49.65%   Elected    1
Hugh Logue  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   19,185   30.15%   Not Elected   
Arthur Barr  Alliance Lozenge   5,830   9.16%   Lost deposit   
Fergus McAteer  Irish Independence Lozenge   5,489   8.63%   Lost deposit   
Eamonn Melaugh  Republican Clubs Lozenge   888   1.40%   Lost deposit   
William Webster  Independent Labour Lozenge   639   1.00%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 63,623 67.13%

Majority  Official Unionist 12,407 19.50%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 23-Oct-17 12:46 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East