ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 3 May 1979
Back Next Antrim South
County Constituency Co Antrim Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 126,444 5 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Jim Molyneaux  Official Unionist Lozenge   50,782   68.96%   Elected    1

Charles Kinahan  Alliance Lozenge   11,914   16.18%   Not Elected   
Patrick Rowan  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   7,432   10.09%   Lost deposit   
Bob Kidd  Independent Labour Lozenge   1,895   2.57%   Lost deposit   
Kevin Smyth  Republican Clubs Lozenge   1,615   2.19%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 73,638 58.24%

Majority  Official Unionist 38,868 52.78%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 25-Sep-17 05:26 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East