ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 3 May 1979
Back Next Belfast South
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 68,920 5 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Rev Robert Bradford  Official Unionist Lozenge   28,875   61.71%   Elected    1

John Glass  Alliance Lozenge   11,745   25.10%   Not Elected   
Alasdair McDonnell  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   3,694   7.89%   Lost deposit   
Victor Brennan  Unionist Party of Northern Ireland Lozenge   1,784   3.81%   Lost deposit   
Jeffrey Dudgeon1  Independent Labour Lozenge   692   1.48%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 46,790 67.89%

Majority  Official Unionist 17,130 36.61%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
By Elections:
4 March 1982  caused by death of Rev Robert Bradford
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 22-Oct-17 08:14 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East