ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 3 May 1979
Back Next Ulster Mid
County Constituency Ulster Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 81,457 5 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* John Dunlop  United Ulster Unionist Lozenge   29,249   44.71%   Elected    1

Patrick Duffy4  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   19,226   29.39%   Not Elected   
Patrick Fahy  Irish Independence Lozenge   12,055   18.43%   Not Elected   
James Lagan  Alliance Lozenge   3,481   5.32%   Lost deposit   
Francie Donnelly1  Republican Clubs Lozenge   1,414   2.16%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 65,425 80.32%

Majority  United Ulster Unionist 10,023 15.32%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 22-Oct-17 07:34 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East