ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 3 May 1979
Back Next Down South
County Constituency Co Down Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 89,562 7 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Enoch Powell  Official Unionist Lozenge   32,254   50.02%   Elected    1

Eddie McGrady  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   24,033   37.27%   Not Elected   
Patrick Forde2  Alliance Lozenge   4,407   6.84%   Lost deposit   
John Markey  Irish Independence Lozenge   1,853   2.87%   Lost deposit   
Desmond O'Hagan  Republican Clubs Lozenge   1,682   2.61%   Lost deposit   
Francis Rice  Non party/Independent Lozenge   216   0.34%   Lost deposit   
Peter Courtney  Non party/Independent Lozenge   31   0.05%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 64,476 71.99%

Majority  Official Unionist 8,221 12.75%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 20-Sep-17 05:19 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East