ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 9 June 1983
Aondroma Thoir
Back Next Antrim East
County Constituency Co Antrim Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 58,780 6 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

Roy Beggs  Official Unionist Lozenge   14,293   37.41%   Elected    1

Jim Allister QC  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   13,926   36.45%   Not Elected   
Se├ín Neeson  Alliance Lozenge   7,620   19.94%   Not Elected   
Michael O'Cleary  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   1,047   2.74%   Lost deposit   
William Cunning  Non party/Independent Lozenge   741   1.94%   Lost deposit   
Austin Kelly  Workers' Lozenge   581   1.52%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 38,208 65.00%

Majority  Official Unionist 367 0.96%

The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
By Elections:
23 January 1986  caused by resignation of Roy Beggs
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 17-Jun-19 02:08 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Ulster Mid Upper Bann