ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 9 June 1983
Back Next Foyle
County Constituency Co Londonderry Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 67,431 5 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

John Hume  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   24,071   46.02%   Elected    1

Gregory Campbell  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   15,923   30.44%   Not Elected   
Martin McGuinness  Sinn Féin Lozenge   10,627   20.32%   Not Elected   
Gerard O'Grady  Alliance Lozenge   1,108   2.12%   Lost deposit   
Eamonn Melaugh  Workers' Lozenge   582   1.11%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 52,311 77.58%

Majority  Social Democrat and Labour 8,148 15.58%

The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 16-Jun-19 01:32 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Ulster Mid Upper Bann