ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster By Election: 23 January 1986
Back Next Belfast North
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 59,821 3 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Cecil Walker  Official Unionist Lozenge   21,649   71.49%   Elected    1

Paul Maguire  Alliance Lozenge   5,072   16.75%   Not Elected   
Seamus Lynch1  Workers' Lozenge   3,563   11.77%   Not Elected   

Total poll 30,284 50.62%

Majority  Official Unionist 16,577 54.74%

* outgoing MP
By election caused by resignation of Cecil Walker.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-Apr-19 03:20 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Ulster Mid Upper Bann