ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster By Election: 23 January 1986
Back Next Fermanagh and Tyrone South
County Constituency Ulster Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 69,919 4 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Ken Maginnis  Official Unionist Lozenge   27,857   49.67%   Elected    1

Owen Caroon  Sinn Féin Lozenge   15,278   27.24%   Not Elected   
Austin Currie  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   12,081   21.54%   Not Elected   
David Kettyles  Workers' Lozenge   864   1.54%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 56,080 80.21%

Majority  Official Unionist 12,579 22.43%

* outgoing MP
By election caused by resignation of Ken Maginnis.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-Apr-19 03:14 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Ulster Mid Upper Bann