ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster By Election: 23 January 1986
Back Next Newry and Armagh
County Constituency Ulster Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 65,482 4 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

Seamus Mallon  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   22,694   45.45%   Elected    1

* Jim Nicholson  Official Unionist Lozenge   20,111   40.28%   Not Elected   
James McAllister  Sinn Féin Lozenge   6,609   13.24%   Not Elected   
Patrick McCusker  Workers' Lozenge   515   1.03%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 49,929 76.25%

Majority  Social Democrat and Labour 2,583 5.17%

* outgoing MP
By election caused by resignation of Jim Nicholson.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-Apr-19 03:09 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Ulster Mid Upper Bann