ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster By Election: 23 January 1986
Back Next Ulster Mid
County Constituency Ulster Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 66,830 4 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Rev Dr William McCrea  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   23,695   46.09%   Elected    1

Danny Morrison  Sinn Féin Lozenge   13,998   27.23%   Not Elected   
Adrian Colton  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   13,021   25.33%   Not Elected   
Thomas Owens  Workers' Lozenge   691   1.34%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 51,405 76.92%

Majority  Democratic Unionist 9,697 18.86%

* outgoing MP
By election caused by resignation of Rev Dr William McCrea.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-Apr-19 03:12 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Ulster Mid Upper Bann