ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster By Election: 23 January 1986
Back Next Down South
County Constituency Co Down Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 70,108 4 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Enoch Powell  Official Unionist Lozenge   24,963   48.43%   Elected    1

Eddie McGrady  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   23,121   44.86%   Not Elected   
Hugh McDowell  Sinn Féin Lozenge   2,936   5.70%   Not Elected   
Seán Magee  Workers' Lozenge   522   1.01%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 51,542 73.52%

Majority  Official Unionist 1,842 3.57%

* outgoing MP
By election caused by resignation of Enoch Powell.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-Apr-19 03:08 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Ulster Mid Upper Bann