ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Local Elections: 27 June 1991
Back Next Drumlish
Longford County Council (Leinster)

3 Seats 4 Candidates 2 Counts
Electorate: 3,072 Quota: 566
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Gerry Brady4  Fine Gael Lozenge   656   29.03%   1.16   1      Made Quota     1   ♂
* Luie McEntire  Fianna Fail Lozenge   588   26.02%   1.04   1      Made Quota     2   ♂
Seán Lynch1  Republican Sinn Féin Lozenge   536   23.72%   0.95   2      Made Quota     3   ♂

* Claire Brady Casey  Fianna Fail Lozenge   480   21.24%   0.85   (2)      Not Elected     ♀  

Total valid 2,260 73.57%

Spoilt votes 38 1.65%

Total poll 2,298 74.80%

* outgoing Councillor (3)
Final votes required for expenses: 142
Candidates: 1 female (♀), 3 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

This was the second area in Longford where only 4 candidates contested 3 seats and so there was very little counting to do. In the end Fianna Fail lost a seat to Republican Sinn Fein.

The Fianna Fail vote was down -4.8% but with 1.9 quotas they were in with a good chance of retaining their two seats. Claire Brady Smith, who had been copted to replace Sean Mulleady on the Council, trailed Sean Lynch (now with Republican Sinn Fein) by 56 votes after the first count. Brady Casey got less of Gerry Brady's surplus and she was beaten for the last seat by Lynch by just 64 votes. Luie McEntire failed to top the poll this time and his vote was down by 256 first preferences.


   ©1998-2021 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 12-Apr-21 08:35 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East