ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Local Elections: 27 June 1991
Cluian Dolcáin
Back Next Clondalkin
South Dublin County Council (Leinster)

3 Seats 11 Candidates 7 Counts
Electorate: 20,425 Quota: 1,887
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Colm McGrath  Fianna Fail Lozenge   1,104   14.63%   0.59   7      Made Quota     1
* Therese Ridge  Fine Gael Lozenge   1,378   18.27%   0.73   7      Elected     2
Colm Tyndall  Progressive Democrats Lozenge   1,332   17.66%   0.71   7      Elected     3

Donna Conlon  Workers' Lozenge   671   8.89%   0.36   (7)      Not Elected    
Catherine Sherwin  Fianna Fail Lozenge   986   13.07%   0.52   (6)      Eliminated    
Robert Dowds  Labour Lozenge   626   8.30%   0.33   (5)      Eliminated    
Conor Delaney1  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   400   5.30%   0.21   (4)      Eliminated    
Pat Smyth  Fianna Fail Lozenge   431   5.71%   0.23   (3)      Lost Deposit    
Vincent Coffey  Sinn Féin Lozenge   315   4.18%   0.17   (2)      Lost Deposit    
Maurice Duffy  Non party/Independent Lozenge   178   2.36%   0.09   (1)      Lost Deposit    
Marie O'Connor  Non party/Independent Lozenge   123   1.63%   0.07   (1)      Lost Deposit    

Total valid 7,544 36.94%

Spoilt votes 63 0.83%

Total poll 7,607 37.24%

* outgoing Councillor
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

From Poll Position - An analysis of the 1991 Local Elections by Sean Donnelly:

This was the area where Minister Mary Harney had won a seat in 1985 with 2,098 first preference votes and so the big question was whether thr Progressive Democrats could retain her seat.

The Progressive Democrats put a newcomer to politics in the field - Colm Tyndall from Clondalkin - and the 26 year old put in a great campaign that resulted in 1,332 first preference votes (46 votes shy of topping the poll). He was duly elected on the 7th count, 507 votes ahead of the last remaining candidate. His first preference percentage was the highest attained by any Progressive Democrat in the country.

The Fianna Fail vote was down 20.4% on 1985 and with only 1.3 quotas it was obvious they would only win one seat. But the question was who would win it. Outgoing councillor Colm McGrath or newcomer Catherine Sherwin? Sherwin put in a fine performance and when eliminated on the penultimate count was just 57 votes behind McGrath. Her 56.5% transfer to McGrath on the final count ensured his election.

Therese Ridge of Fine Gael more than doubled her 1985 vote and easily retained her seat with the Fine Gael vote up 1%.

Going into this election the Left were very hopeful of winning a seat in this area and with 1.1 quotas on the first count there was every chance. But the vote was too evenly spread and their top candidate - Donna Conlan of the Workers' party - was well adrift by the end.

The Labour and Sinn Fein votes were down on 1985 and the Workers' Party vote increased 2.1%. The Greens, on their first outing, won 5.3% of the vote.

The electorate was up by 4,442 but the turnout was very low with a valid poll of only 36.9% (down 7.6% on 1985).

   ©1998-2018 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 14-Dec-18 02:52 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Tallaght South Terenure Rathfarnham Tallaght Central Clondalkin Lucan