ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 1 May 1997
Back Next Antrim North
County Constituency Co Antrim Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 72,411 7 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

David Alderdice  Alliance Lozenge   2,845   6.16%   Elected   
* Rev Ian Paisley Snr  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   21,495   46.54%   Not Elected    1
Bronagh Hinds  Northern Ireland Women's Coalition Lozenge   580   1.26%   Lost deposit   
John Wright  Natural Law Lozenge   116   0.25%   Lost deposit   
Seán Farren  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   7,333   15.88%   Not Elected   
James McCarry  Sinn Féin Lozenge   2,896   6.27%   Not Elected   
James Leslie  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   10,921   23.65%   Not Elected   

Total poll 46,186 63.78%

Majority  Alliance -18,650 - 40.38%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 18-Oct-17 07:39 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann