ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 1 May 1997
Back Next Antrim South
County Constituency Co Antrim Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 69,414 6 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

Barbara Briggs  Natural Law Lozenge   203   0.51%   Elected   
Henry Cushinan  Sinn Féin Lozenge   2,229   5.55%   Not Elected   
David Ford  Alliance Lozenge   4,668   11.61%   Not Elected   
* Clifford Forsythe  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   23,108   57.49%   Not Elected    1
Donovan McClelland  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   6,497   16.16%   Not Elected   
Hugh Smyth  Progressive Unionist Lozenge   3,490   8.68%   Not Elected   

Total poll 40,195 57.91%

Majority  Natural Law -2,026 - 5.04%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
By Elections:
21 September 2000  caused by death of Clifford Forsythe
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 17-Oct-17 07:08 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann