ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 1 May 1997
Back Next Belfast South
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 63,439 10 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Rev Martin Smyth1  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   14,201   35.97%   Elected    1

Alasdair McDonnell  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   9,601   24.32%   Not Elected   
David Ervine  Progressive Unionist Lozenge   5,687   14.40%   Not Elected   
Steve McBride  Alliance Lozenge   5,112   12.95%   Not Elected   
Seán Hayes4  Sinn Féin Lozenge   2,019   5.11%   Not Elected   
Annie Campbell  Northern Ireland Women's Coalition Lozenge   1,204   3.05%   Lost deposit   
Myrtle Boal  Conservative Lozenge   962   2.44%   Lost deposit   
Niall Cusack  Independent Labour Lozenge   292   0.74%   Lost deposit   
Patrick Lynn  Workers' Lozenge   286   0.72%   Lost deposit   
James Anderson  Natural Law Lozenge   120   0.30%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 39,484 62.24%

Majority  Ulster Unionist 4,600 11.65%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 20-Jan-19 08:49 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann